Courses

Cattedra Galieiana
Prof. Avi Loeb (Harvard University)
See more about Cattedra Galileiana

Course schedule:

Day Topic
June 26, 2012 Structure Formation in the Universe. Basic principles of the standard model of cosmology, and the growth of structure in our cosmic past and future. WATCH VIDEO
June 27, 2012 The First Galaxies and Reionization. Overview of the current research frontier concerning the first galaxies and their effects on the rest of the Universe. WATCH VIDEO
July 3, 2012 A Closer Look at Black Holes. The physics of astrophysical black holes and new techniques to probe the strong gravity around them. WATCH VIDEO
July 4, 2012 Future Frontiers in Cosmology from a Galilean Perspective. Overview of emerging frontiers in cosmology, and advice to young researchers regarding how to choose among them. WATCH VIDEO




Astrobiology
Prof. V. Barone, Prof. A. Cattaneo, Prof. A. Ferrara, Prof. M. Vietri

Course schedule:

Lecturer Day Time Topic
Vietri Thu. Dec 01, 2011 09 am - 11 am Background
Vietri Tue. Dec 06, 2011 11 am - 01 pm Protostellar Collapse
Vietri Thu. Dec 15, 2011 09 am - 11 am Planet formation
Vietri Tue. Dec 20, 2011 11 am - 01 pm Extrasolar Planets
Vietri Thu. Jan 12, 2012 09 am - 11 am Extrasolar Planets
---------- ------------ -------------- --------------------------
Ferrara Tue. Jan 17, 2012 11 am - 01 pm The interstellar medium
---------- ------------ -------------- --------------------------
Barone Thu. Jan 26, 2012 09 am - 11 am Basic inorganic and organic chemistry
Barone Tue. Jan 31, 2012 11 am - 01 pm Reactivity, Thermochemistry and the role of water
Barone Thu. Feb 09, 2012 09 am - 11 am Aminoacids and proteins
Barone Tue. Feb 14, 2012 11 am - 01 pm DNA and RNA
Barone Thu. Feb 16, 2012 09 am - 11 am Simulation of a chemical reaction (Lab)
---------- ------------ -------------- --------------------------
Cattaneo Thu. Mar 1, 2012 09 am - 11 am The origin of life on the Earth: the problem
Cattaneo Tue. Mar 6, 2012 11 am - 01 pm Boundary conditions: prebiotic Earth and its atmosphere.
Cattaneo Thu. Mar 8, 2012 09 am - 11 am What is life? Basic molecular biology of the cell.
Cattaneo Tue. Mar13, 2012 11 am - 01 pm Metabolism. Bioenergetics. Heterotrophy and autotrophy
Cattaneo Thu. Mar 15, 2012 09 am - 11 am Replication or metabolism first? DNA or proteins?
Cattaneo Tue. Mar 20, 2012 11 am - 01 pm An RNA prebiotic world?
Cattaneo Thu. Mar 22, 2012 09 am - 11 am Origin and evolution of the genetic code
Cattaneo Tue. Mar 27, 2012 11 am - 01 pm The metabolic view of the origin of life
---------- ------------ -------------- --------------------------
Ferrara Thu. Mar 29, 2012 09 am - 11 am Galactic Habitable Zones
Ferrara Tue. Apr 3, 2012 11 am - 01 pm Alternate Habitable Zones
Thu. Apr 5, 2012 Eastern break
Tue. Apr 10, 2012 Eastern break
Ferrara Tue. Apr 17, 2012 11 am - 01 pm Fermi Paradox and SETI (Search for ExtraTerrestrial Intelligence)
---------- ------------ -------------- --------------------------
Cattaneo Thu. Apr 19, 2012 09 am - 11 am LUCA (Last Universal Common Ancestor). Extremophiles
Cattaneo Thu. Apr 24, 2012 11 am - 01 pm Synthesizing life. Artificial cells and synthetic biology.

All lectures will be held in Aula Marie Curie (Palazzo D'Ancona)

News

* NAI Origin of Life Focus Group Seminar - Mar 6, 2012:
Time: 2-3:30pm Eastern Time (8-9.30pm GMT+1)
Steven Benner (Foundation for Applied Molecular Evolution, Distinguished Fellow)
"Understanding the Chemistry Behind Origins"
Sara Imari Walker (Beyond Center @ Arizona State University, NASA Postdoctoral Fellow)
"Not Understanding the Physics Behind Origins"
The slides and audio/video for this seminar will be presented using Adobe Connect. To join the meeting, connect to this link

* Dec 14, 2011: Nordic-NASA Summer School "Water, Ice and the Origin of Life in the Universe", 2-15 July 2012
* Dec 11, 2011: Updates on Kepler-22 b during the First Kepler Science Conference
* Dec 05, 2011: NASA's Kepler Mission Confirms Its First Planet in Habitable Zone of Sun-like Star

Useful links

NASA Astrobiology
The Habitable Exoplanets Catalog (HEC)
A blog about astrobiology